ACSM Member Spotlight

ACSM Member Spotlight and Inspiring Leaders Series

Learn about the ACSM members and certified professionals who are impacting the fields of exercise science, sports medicine and health & fitness.

Tony Babb, Ph.D., FACSM

The 2023 ACSM Citation Award recipient has spent his career asking, "What are the limitations to breathing during exercise?"

Steve N. Blair, P.E.D., FACSM

ACSM honors the legacy of it's 40th president, a giant in the field of exercise epidemiology.

Brian Cleven, M.S., ACSM-CEP

ACSM's 2024 Certified Professional of the Year is a clinical exercise physiologist, Ironman, local event organizer and pilot.

Craig Crandall, Ph.D., FACSM

Across his career, Dr. Crandall has been drawing from his varied experiences to evolve the scope of thermoregulation research.

Jonathan Finnoff, D.O., FACSM

Learn more about the United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee (USOPC)'s chief medical officer.

Carl Foster, Ph.D., FACSM

The recipient of the 2024 ACSM Honor Award has dedicated over 50 years of service to the field of exercise science and to the college.

Jorge Franchella, M.D., FACSM

The 2023 ACSM Citation Award recipient is a fierce advocate for ACSM and Exercise is Medicine® in his home country of Argentina.

Li Li Ji, Ph.D., FACSM

From the basketball court, to the research lab, Dr. Ji has been driven to use his experience and expertise to teach others.

Michael Joyner, M.D., FACSM

Learn about the marathon career and accomplishments of the 2023 ACSM Honor Award recipient.

Jill Kanaley, Ph.D., FACSM

The researcher and 2023 ACSM Citation Award recipient never stops asking questions, and letting the search for answers take her down the road less traveled.

Kathy Myburgh, Ph.D., FACSM

Dedicated researcher and 2023 ACSM Citation Award recipient, Dr. Myburgh has spent her career studying bone and muscle.

Parker Spencer, ACSM-EP

In 2022 at just 33-years-old, Spencer is the youngest individual to take home USA Triathlon's Olympic Coach of the Year Award.

Louise Valentine, MPH, ACSM-EP, EIM

The 2023 ACSM Certified Professional of the Year, has turned her personal challenges into the opportunity to change the lives of women over 35 through fitness.


Read More Member and Certified Professional Stories


Meet the Member Daheia Barr-Anderson

Daheia Barr-Anderson, Ph.D., MSPH, FACSM

Associate Professor, School of Kinesiology | University of Minnesota
Director, Behavioral Physical Activity Lab (BPAL) | University of Minnesota

  • Learn about Dr. Barr-Anderson

Meet the Member L. Jerome Brandon

L. Jerome Brandon, Ph.D., FACSM

Chair and Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health | Georgia State University 

  • Learn about Dr. Brandon

Melicia Whitt-Glover headshot

Melicia Whitt-Glover, Ph.D., FACSM

President and CEO, Gramercy Research Group
Executive Director, Council on Black Health

  • Learn about Dr. Whitt-Glover